Getting to know David Weber’s “Honor Harrington” Series

This past week we took a glimpse at David Weber and his Honor Harrington series

On Monday we pondered over a passage.

What are some of your thoughts about this quote/passage from Book 8 of the Honor Harrington series by David Weber?


On Tuesday we had a little trivia.

Treecat1In the Honor Harrington series, there is a species known as the Treecats. They are described as empaths which means they have the ability to:

1. Read a person’s thoughts
2. Tell the future
3. Affect an object mentally

4. Read a person’s emotional state


For Wednesday we heard the thoughts of David Weber.

A word from David Weber:

“There are, unfortunately, a much larger number of writers, in my opinion, for whom their emphasis on their “art” is more important than their emphasis on the story they’re telling. My own feeling is that when a writer’s style begins to distract from the story, he’s not doing his best work. And that when a writer begins to put the “art” of his work ahead of his readers’ enjoyment of it, he’s not really going to produce his best work, no matter how “artistic” it may be.”

Thursday we shared a short synopsis.

On Basilisk Station is the first book in the Honor Harrington series. It tells the story of Commander Harrington who has recently graduated and assumes command of the Fearless light cruiser. Her and her crew were required to demonstrate an absurd new warfare technology and when they failed, they were all “banished” to Basilisk station in the middle of nowhere. At Basilisk, Honor meets up with an old rival of hers who decides to jump ship and leave her and her tiny crew to police the whole system. While on duty there, she discovers a plot by the People’s Republic of Haven to take over her star system of Manticore, but she and her crew foil their plans.

Friday we shared the whole series.

Did you know that the Honor Harrington series consist of 13 books and counting! And it doesn’t end there. This series is categorized under the Honorverse, which not only consist of the Honor Harrington 13 book series, but also has 2 sub-series, 2 prequel series, and a couple of anthologies.

Here are the names of the 13 books in the Honor Harrington series.

1. On Basilisk Station (Honor Harrington, #1)
2. The Honor of the Queen (Honor Harrington, #2)
3. The Short Victorious War (Honor Harrington, #3)
4. Field of Dishonor (Honor Harrington, #4)
5. Flag in Exile (Honor Harrington, #5)
6. Honor Among Enemies (Honor Harrington, #6)
7. In Enemy Hands (Honor Harrington, #7)
8. Echoes of Honor (Honor Harrington, #8)
9. Ashes of Victory (Honor Harrington, #9)
10. War of Honor (Honor Harrington, #10)
11. At All Costs (Honor Harrington, #11)
12. Mission of Honor (Honor Harrington, #12)
13. A Rising Thunder (Honor Harrington, #13)

Saturday we showed a clip of a test animation.

Check out this clip! It’s a test animation of the treecat Nimitz. Evergreen Studios is rumored to bringing the Honor Harrington series to the big screen. You can find the whole series at So read up before the movie is here!

Sunday we announced the next author we’ll be looking at.

Thanks to everyone for following us. Up next we will be taking a look at George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire.

Leave a Reply