Getting to know E. E. Knight and the Age of Fire series

E. E. Knight, whose real name is Eric Frisch, is best known for his Age of Fire series. He is also the author of the Vampire Earth series and has also written a novel on Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Lost Cult.

Below is our day by day recap of E. E. Knight
and the Age of Fire series:


The Age of Fire series by E. E. Knight is told from the viewpoint of dragons. In an age where dragons are dying out, one young dragon is determined to find out why.sample

‘Greed is good,’ or so foolish dragons will say
Until piles of treasure bring killing thieves where they lay.
Hungry is your body, and at times you must feed
But Gluttony makes fat dragons, who can’t fly at their need.

― E. E. Knight, Dragon Champion (Age of Fire – Book 1)


A brief synopsis of Dragon Champion, the first book in the Age of Fire series by E.E. Knight:

9780451463630Told through the eyes of young dragon Auron, this story follow his life from the moment of his birth. Auron has a fierce battle between his siblings leaving him the only surviving male offspring. He is also a scaleless dragon which makes him very vulnerable and not very impressive. However, he doesn’t suffer the thirst for treasure which plagues most other dragons. Most of his time is spent confined to the cave in which he was hatched until it is invaded by murderous dwarves. Auron is separated from his parents and is thrust into a world in which he finds out that he’s not the only dragon facing oblivion. His entire species is at a risk of extinction. Dragons have been steadily decreasing while humans, elves, and dwarves have been increasing. Auron plans to find out why and along the way, become the champion of which he was named.


Time for some trivia!


Auron with the wolves. Fan-art of garliceyes

After breathing his first fire, Auron joined a pack of wolves who gave him what name?

A. Longtail
B. Firelong
D. Blacksnout

The correct answer was B. Firelong

When humans started to kill the dolphins, Auron attacked their ship in a rage, breathing his first fire and becoming a drake. He then fled, traveling North, and joined a pack of wolves. After being declared a wolf and named Firelong (short for Long-Tail Fire-Heart), he traveled with his pack to the eastern mountains.


E. E. Knight on writing from a dragons point of view:

knight“Writing the dragons is kind of liberating, because they’re not so firmly attached to our own conceptions of right and wrong.  Each receives some form of moral education — I don’t want my audience turned off by a bunch of amoral narcissists, but all their actions are bound to be a little off according to human convention.  If they’re children they’re rather wayward ones, but things manage to work out in the end.”  – E.E. Knight (From The Age of Fire – E.E. Knight Interview by Damon Cap)


Did you know that there are over 100 dragon characters in the Age of Fire series by E. E. Knight? K.A. Shuck (Susiron) is one of the many fans of the Age of Fire series and has amazing artwork depicting the many dragons in relation to those stories. Check out his page below.auron_by_susiron-d4h2mz2


There are 6 books in the Age of Fire series by E.E. Knight. The Genre Go Round Reviews says the final book was “An exhilarating climax to a strong fantasy saga” and the New York Times #1 bestselling author Charlaine Harris says E.E. Knight is “One of the most consistently interesting writers.”books

Check out more books written by E. E. Knight at Thanks for tuning in! And remember to follow us on Facebook and Google+ to get our daily “Getting to Know” feed as we introduce well known authors and their books.

Leave a Reply