Getting to know Orson Scott Card’s “Ender’s Game”

Orson Scott Card is an author best known for his Ender’s Game series which have received both the Hugo and Nebula Award. Most of his work is Science Fiction, though he has written some Fantasy works

Below is our day by day recap of Orson Scott Card
and his Science Fiction series, Ender’s Game


Our thought of day was taken from the first book in the Ender’s game series. Ender’s siblings, Peter and Valentine, wrote manipulating political commentary under pseudonyms, Valentine as “Demosthenes” and Peter as “Locke.” Valentine wrote a column using the following passage as a premise. She wanted to show that politicians who toadied to the Russians in order to keep the peace would inevitably end up subservient to them.


Photo is courtesy of George Amaro


Our trivia of the day tested how well you pay attention to what they say in Ender’s Game?

When Ender was learning about long-range shooting in the battle-room, the tip he was given from Petra was to:game

1. Aim right below the target
2. Aim right above the target
3. Hold down the trigger longer
4. Barely hold down the trigger at all


Orson Scott Card wrote the following in his introduction to Ender’s Game:

card“…never in my entire childhood did I feel like a child. I felt like a person all along – the same person that I am today. I never felt that I spoke childishly. I never felt that my emotions and desires were somehow less real than an adult emotions and desires. And in writing Ender’s Game, I forced the audience to experience the lives of these children from that perspective – the perspective in which their feelings and decisions are just as real and important as any adult’s.”


The novel-length version of “Ender’s Game,” published in 1984 and continuously in print since then, became the basis of the 2013 film, starring Asa Butterfield, Harrison Ford, Ben Kingsley, Hailee Steinfeld, Viola Davis, and Abigail Breslin.


Here is a brief synopsis of Ender’s Game:

In order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race, government agencies breed child geniuses and train them as soldiers. A brilliant young boy, Andrew “Ender” Wiggin, lives with his kind but distant parents, his sadistic brother Peter, and the person he loves more than anyone else, his sister Valentine. Peter and Valentine were candidates for the soldier-training program but didn’t make the cut.  Young Ender, however, is drafted to the orbiting Battle School for rigorous military training.

Ender’s Game originally consisted of four books:

Ender's Game (Revised)

Ender’s Game

Speaker for the Dead (REV)

Speaker for the Dead



Children of the Mind

Children of the Mind

Soon after the Ender’s Game quartet, Orson Scott Card added the Shadow Saga and a couple of short stories that happen around the same time frame as the original Ender’s Game books

Books and Series by Orson Scott Card

Ender’s Game

Ender's Game (Revised)
Speaker for the Dead (REV)
Children of the Mind
A War of Gifts
Earth Afire: The First Formic War
Earth Awakens
Earth Unaware
Ender in Exile
Formic Wars: Burning Earth
Ender's World: Fresh Perspectives on the SF Classic Ender's Game
Ender's Game
La Tierra Desprevenida: La Primera Gurra Formica = Earth Unaware
The Authorized Ender Companion  The Ender Quartet Set: Ender's Game, Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide, Children of the Mind

The Shadow Saga

Ender's ShadowShadows in Flight
Shadow of the HegemonShadow of the Giant
Shadow PuppetsThe Ender's Shadow Series Box Set: Ender's Shadow, Shadow of the Hegemon, Shadow Puppets, Shadow of the Giant

The Empire Series

EmpireHidden Empire

Pathfinder Series


The Mithermages series

The Lost GateThe Gate Thief

The Homecoming Saga

The Memory of EarthThe Call of Earth

The Tales of Alvin Maker

Seventh Son
Red Prophet
Prentice Alvin
Alvin Journeyman
The Crystal City

Other Books by Orson Scott Card

Laddertop, Books 1 & 2
Laddertop, Volume 1
Ethics, Literature, and Theory: An Introductory Reader
Future on Ice
Hart's Hope
Characters & Viewpoint
Invasive Procedures
Keeper of Dreams
Maps in a Mirror: The Short Fiction of Orson Scott Card
Masterpieces: The Best Science Fiction of the Twentieth Century
Orson Scott Card's Intergalactic Medicine Show
Storyteller: The Official Guide to the Works of Orson Scott Card
The Dragon Quintet
The Folk of the Fringe

 Follow us on Facebook and Google+ to get our daily “Getting to Know” feed as we introduce well known authors and their books.


Leave a Reply