Number 1 online shop for Fantasy Fiction Books and Science Fiction Books

We Ship Worldwide! USA & International

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only once. ” ― George R.R. Martin, A Dance With Dragons

Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited

Author: Samuel Butler

ISBN: 9780486796376 | Publisher: Dover Publications

Release Date: 2015-06-17 00:00:00

Availability: In stock

$5.50

Product Description

In Erewhon, an anagram for "nowhere," sickness is a punishable crime, criminals receive compassionate medical treatment, and machines are banned, lest they evolve and take over. Originally published in 1872, the proto-steampunk novel "Erewhon" won its author immediate recognition as a satirist. Samuel""Butler followed in the tradition of Voltaire and Swift in creating "Erewhon "and" Erewhon Revisited, "which are widely recognized as the nineteenth century's most important works of their kind.
Entertaining and provocative, these books are unsparing in their treatment of the hypocrisies of Victorian society, taking aim at the family, church, and mechanical "progress." George Orwell, no stranger to the depiction of futuristic societies, noted that at the time of "Erewhon"'s writing the author needed "imagination of a very high order to see that machinery could be dangerous as well as useful." Today's readers will also find the book remarkably prescient in its anticipation of future sociological trends.

Additional Information

ISBN 9780486796376
Author Samuel Butler
UPC 048679637X
Binding / Format Paperback
Publisher Dover Publications
Language English
Release Date Jun 17, 2015
Aditional Formats N/A
Additional Book Covers N/A

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited